Nokia Email Reinstallation Problem

I had lost my Nokia N8 on a recent snowboarding trip out in Vail, Colorado and thought this was indeed the end of my love affair with Nokia until I came across an Engadget article with a new blacked-out top info bar and a new blacked out bottom bar (2×2 home screen switching button flanked on either side by a call button and a keypad button).

So I bought another Nokia N8 with overnight shipping and boom, I had it in my hands after a budget breaking cash transfer from my bank account. I had a relatively recent back-up from my original N8 which I used as the restoration point for the new N8. Prior to the restore, I made sure to run all the updates including the 13.016 Symbian software update.

Most of the stuff looks good EXCEPT for my email … the one thing on this phone that continues to anger me for a million different reasons. Now, when I try to load the MAIL client widget on my home screen, I get a blank widget. If I load the application directly, it works without a hitch. WTF Nokia???!!!!

EDIT: Looks like the issue was caused by the Mobile Documents app I had downloaded from the betaLabs site. I simply removed all my email accounts from the Nokia Mail tool and then installed Mobile Documents from Ovi store. Rebooted the phone and oddly enough, while the Mobile Documents icon was still nowhere to be seen, I was able to add accounts to my email client and have them appear on the home screens.

Posted on March 7, 2011, in Email, Homescreen, N8, N8-00, Nokia, WTF and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment